NY Times on Andy Bechtolsheim


I’ve been working with the people behind the Sun Constellation System this past week in Dresden, including Andy Bechtolsheim. I can’t really describe how fascinating it has been to spend time with some of the brightest minds on the planet, but reading this story about Andy reminds me of something:
I was working at Cray Research back in 1996 when Seymour Cray died. He had long left the company to do other ventures, but I was asked to produce a video about the man and his life.
I dug up films from the 70’s and watched hours of footage of him speaking and working. And then some interviewer asked him how he wanted to be remembered.
He said he would probably be remembered as just someone who did his work.
And you know what? I think I want the same thing.
And when you read about Andy B. in this NY Times story and wonder why a billionaire would work as hard as this man, ask yourself this:
“He does his work. Is there any better legacy than that for any of us?” Full Story

About Rich
FlexRex began his life as a cartoon character I created a Sun Microsystems. As the world's first "fictional blogger," he appeared in numerous parody films that made fun of the whole work-from-home thing. Somewhere along the line, the Sun IT department adopted FlexRex as their spokesman in a half-dozen security awareness films for employees. So when I left Sun recently, I started FlexRex Communications, a Marketing company in Portland, Oregon.

Leave a Reply

