Are Linux File Systems Right for You?

Storage pundit Henry Newman has set off a “firestorm” of comments with a recent article that questions the scalability of standalone Linux file systems vs. standalone symmetric multiprocessing (SMP) file systems available from companies like Sun.
“None of this is to say I am anti-Linux; nor am I pro-AIX or pro-Solaris. I am not even anti-Windows, since I use a Windows laptop as my main computer. But I do believe that the default Linux file systems are not yet up to the task of replacing the high-performance, highly scalable SMP file systems. Computers are tools, and operating systems and file systems are also tools in the toolbox. No one should use a chainsaw in place of a jigsaw, and the same analogy can be used for operating systems, file systems and the hardware on which they run.” Full Story

About Rich
FlexRex began his life as a cartoon character I created a Sun Microsystems. As the world's first "fictional blogger," he appeared in numerous parody films that made fun of the whole work-from-home thing. Somewhere along the line, the Sun IT department adopted FlexRex as their spokesman in a half-dozen security awareness films for employees. So when I left Sun recently, I started FlexRex Communications, a Marketing company in Portland, Oregon.

Leave a Reply

