Forecast Calls for Cloud Computing

cloud image

After the big Sun RIF this past February, I decided to take a little break from blogging while I figured out my next move. Neil Peart said that “A spirit with vision is a dream,” but my first concerns had more to do with figuring out how to file for COBRA and unemployment benefits.

The Sun HPC Watercooler was a daily habit for me for nearly four years, and Oracle has been nice enough to keep it up there on the Net. It feels good that it’s still one of their most popular blogs, and I’ll take any vindication I can get. The Watercooler was designed to help get Sun HPC on the map. It worked. It continues to work, and the know-how I gained from producing that blog is serving me well now as a consultancy for other companies.

One thing I did come away with from that experience is that this Flex Rex blog needs purpose, scope, or mission beyond what is going on today, and Twitter pretty much has that covered. So I’m going to set a course, here and now, and hopefully it will lead somewhere.

I’m starting an online publishing venture, Flex Rex Publishing, with me as the primary author. In other words, I am going to write and sell ebooks on the side while I continue to do marketing communications on a contract basis. The ebook subject matters will vary, but I want to help non-techies live in the cloud. This is something that I do for my friends on a regular basis, and I want to try and turn this passion into a buck or two.

Why the Cloud? Well, Cloud Computing is the buzz at moment in IT circles because all the big players like Amazon, Google, and Apple are investing in cloud in a big way. They know that cloud services are where their money is going to come from in the future. And that’s why you can find tons on articles, blogs, and white papers on cloud computing that come at the subject from an IT perspective.

But what about the poor schlub that wants to use these services to “live in the cloud” and make his computing life better, cheaper, and more secure? He needs a friend in the business.

About Rich
FlexRex began his life as a cartoon character I created a Sun Microsystems. As the world's first "fictional blogger," he appeared in numerous parody films that made fun of the whole work-from-home thing. Somewhere along the line, the Sun IT department adopted FlexRex as their spokesman in a half-dozen security awareness films for employees. So when I left Sun recently, I started FlexRex Communications, a Marketing company in Portland, Oregon.

Leave a Reply

